How States Select “Intermediate Appellate Courts”

Here is the American Judicature Society list on the breakdown of how states select their “Intermediate Appellate Courts.”

Legislative Appointment (2):  South Carolina and Virginia.

Gubernatorial Appointment (3): California, Kansas, and New Jersey.

Non-Partisan Election (11): Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oregon, Washington, and Wisconsin.

Partisan Election (7): Alabama, Illinois, Louisiana, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Texas.

Merit Selection (16): Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, New York, Oklahoma, Tennessee, and Utah.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s