How States Select “Courts of Last Resort”

I found an American Judicature Society list on the breakdown of how states select their “Courts of Last Resort.”

Legislative Appointment (2):  South Carolina and Virginia.

Gubernatorial Appointment (2): California and New Jersey.

Non-Partisan Election (13): Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, Washington, and Wisconsin.

Partisan Election (9): Alabama, Illinois, Louisiana, Michigan, New Mexico, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, and West Virginia.

Merit Selection (25): Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New York, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Wyoming.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s