Legislature – Judicial Redistricting

According to Art. 6, Sec. 152 of the Mississippi Constitution, the Legislature must address judicial redistricting this year.  If not, the Supreme Court has the authority to redistrict circuit and chancery courts.

I do not expect any change in judicial district lines.  Last year, the Legislature was set to add several new judges but decided not to at the end of the session.  This year, I expect the Legislature will reestablish the current judicial districts and add a few (3-4) new judges.

As of now, I only see two bills filed to add new judges:

SB2064 Judges; provide additional chancellor for the Fourth Chancery Court District. (Amite, Franklin, Pike, Walthall)

SB2334 Tenth Circuit District; create subdistrict and additional judge. (Clarke, Kemper, Lauderdale, Wayne)

One thought on “Legislature – Judicial Redistricting

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s